Society 5.0 

Human centeredness in a cyber-physical society 

3rd Conference - 5th to 6th  June 2023
University of Pretoria 

Conference Center Future Africa

The Conference

Following an era of fast-paced evolution of digital technologies, digital disruption and digital transformation, Society 5.0 refers to "A human-centered society that balances economic advancement with the resolution of social problems by a system that highly integrates cyberspace and physical space." As the cyber-physical space consists of interconnected systems and devices, collecting and sending data, the role of people in these systems are often passive. This may result in the exclusion of the human all-together when considering applications and interactions in the cyber-physical space.

The 3rd edition of the Society 5.0 conference therefore focuses on all aspects of interconnectedness and interaction – where physical systems and enabling cyber technologies are applied to achieve a certain goal. The role of – and impact on – the human in this potentially complex interaction must be investigated and considered through the application of different lenses and interdisciplinary fields. The aim of this enquiry is to design and develop technological products that not only meet human needs, but that also considers the human experience when engaging in the cyber-physical space.

The Society 5.0 conference «Human centeredness in a cyber-physical society» is going to deal with a large range of opportunities and challenges of the society and business of the future. We encourage contributions from experienced and young researchers and practitioners from industry, and look forward to meeting old and new friends in June 2023.

In the spirit of Society 5.0, a human-centered society, we would like to ensure that as many people as possible, are able to take part in the conference in 2023. You will be able to experience:

Organization & Location

The conference will be held at the University of Pretoria, South Africa. 

The conference series is jointly organized by the Universidad EAFIT (Colombia), the University of Pretoria (South Africa), the University of Camerino (Italy), the Business School of the Shenzhen Technology University (China), the Universiti Malaysia Kelantan (Malaysia), Putra Business School (Malaysia) and the FHNW University of Applied Sciences and Arts  Northwestern Switzerland.